Here we go again!

I must admit that I am a frequent visitor of many sewing blogs.  Film in the Fridge, Made by Rae, lower your presserfootOh Fransson, and The Sew Weekly inspire me.   I love to oogle at the colorful combinations, choices of fabric and creative projects.  I aspire to have a blog only half as nice as those I have mentioned.  Last year, the impetus of Spring Top Week motivated me to launch a blog.  However the combination of the technological gap and lack of time pushed it to the back burner.

And now, I recommit.  I would love to share my sewing projects in musings if only to merely chronicle my progress and projects.  Hopefully one day I will become adept enough to understand how to fully use my blog.  But for now, it will be an online journal of my sewing endeavors.

On to an accomplished project– the 2011 Made by Rae Spring Top SewAlong.  I love this annual event for several reasons.
1.  It gives me a firm deadline to work toward, thus ensuring that I actually complete a sewing project; and
2.  I am very tall, therefore it’s quite difficult to buy tops off the rack that are long enough.

I picked up Simplicity’s 2599 earlier this spring and with lots of drafting revisions I was able to make three tops in time for the contest.   It turns out that this is the very same top that Kelli of Presser Foot is using –it’s really quite a versatile pattern, as each looks quite different!

The fabric of this shirt is a beautiful cotton/silk blend that I bought in Athens, Greece. (I must admit that I’m not a jet-setter; my husband was attending an academic conference and he was gracious enough to bring me along.)  It was a lovely little shop that sold couture quality fabrics, mostly silks and fabrics for fancy runway dresses.  But in a little corner they had a selection of cottons – on sale!  I also picked up a beautiful piece of Liberty of London fabric that I’m saving for posterity.  I digress…

Beware that there is a significant amount of ease in this pattern. I removed roughly 2″ per side and made a sway back adjustment.  I also shirred the waist to give greater definition.  The ruffles are my favorite feature, in part because I used my NEW serger to finish the edge of ruffle.  (Who doesn’t use irreplaceable European fabric to learn how to use a rolled hem on the serger?)  The serger was a wonderful Christmas/birthday gift from my mother and husband.

Here are the results. ( I must admit that I am quite pleased.)

5 Comments

Filed under 2011 Spring Top SewAlong, Pattern review, Tops

5 responses to “Here we go again!

  1. Pingback: A little red ruffled top « The Professor's Wife

  2. Aly

    One of my favorites from the Spring Top Sewalong. Beautiful.

  3. Pingback: Wow! Two tops “made the cut” for the SewAlong! «

  4. I think this is my favourite top in the whole sewalong! Just voted for you. Good luck 🙂

  5. Pingback: Tutorial: Adjusting pattern ease | The Professor's Wife

Leave a Reply

