Take three, Simplicity 2599

When a Talbots catalog arrived in my mailbox earlier this spring, I became smitten with this shirt.  White, breezy and made of Swiss dot fabric.  But for $58?  Having recently finished two tops made with the Simplicity 2599 pattern, I knew that I had the basic shape of the blouse and thought that I would give it a try. 

I found the white cotton Swiss dot at a fabric warehouse near my hometown, along with white cotton batiste.  Including the cost of thread and the invisible zipper, I think I made the whole thing for about $10.  Not bad. 

I used the pattern for the basic shell of the pattern, but signifcantly altered the front.  As with the other tops made with Simplicity 2599 I removed a significant amount of ease.  To achieve the pleating on the front I made a 1-1.5″ open dart on the outside of the shell, which the ruffle covers.

Had the deadline for the 2011 Spring Top SewAlong not been extended, I never would have gotten this finished.  I was oh-s0-close on Monday morning, but I had a tangle with the invisible zipper.  I must admit that this was my first “truly invisible” zipper, and it may have been my last!  I think the trouble was that I sewed the center back seam prior to putting in the zipper. (I know that you aren’t supposed to do it that way, but I thought that I could get away with it!)  Next time, I’ll definitely follow the directions more carefully.

I think that I’m ready to move onto a new pattern, but I must say that this ranks up there with my all time favorites.  Hancock’s pattern sale starts tomorrow and I have my eye on several new dress patterns.  I’ll post in a few days about the vintage wrap dress I recently made using a vintage McCall’s pattern, # 9365.

 

If anyone is interested, I’d be happy to post a tutorial on how I constructed the blouse.

5 Comments

Filed under 2011 Spring Top SewAlong

5 responses to “Take three, Simplicity 2599

  1. Beth

    I love it and would love more details on its construction.

    • Jen Ward

      I just ran across your top on the Made by Rae Spring Top Sew Along and I LOVE IT!! I’m a novice sewer and would love a tutorial on it’s construction. I’ve never made any clothing for myself, but this top has inspired me to start!!

  2. Stephanie

    I love swiss dot shirts too. 🙂 I am going to definitely try to make it and would love any advice or tutorial you might be willing to give me.

    • Hello all!

      I’ll certainly write up a tutorial on this top. On a funny note, I went to Talbots this week for their end-of-the-season clearance and tried on the top that I modeled this after. I was pleased to see that my version was a lot more fitted than the boxy cut of Talbots.

      I’ll get a bit more fabric at the store and then work up a tutorial. Would any of you like to do a sew along? We could make a top like this for the fall- perhaps with 3/4 length sleeves?

      Thanks!

Leave a Reply

