A tractor-inspired outfit

What two-year old doesn’t love tractors?  One of my favorite little guys is wild about tractors.  Tractor books, tractor songs, tractor toys.  When I saw this fabric six months ago, I couldn’t wait for his birthday celebration!

Perhaps one of my favorite things about the outfit is that it matches his beloved song, Tractor, Tractor by Randall Goodgame.

Tractor, tractor harvesting the wheat
Airplane, airplane flying through the air
Backhoe, backhoe digging in the dirt

Butterick 5439  serves as the basis for this jumper pattern.  Inspired by the cute jumpers of Oliver +S, I wanted to try using contrasting fabric and piping.

I cut the pattern at the chest midpoint, and added seam allowance to each section.  The pattern calls for facing the top and armholes of the jumper, but I think this method can look unfinished.  The top of the jumper is lined using the (new) pattern piece for the chest section.   I also graded this pattern up a size to accommodate for his tall stature.

This is a great pattern.  It’s my pattern of choice for little boys’ clothes, and I’ve made quite a few jumpers with it.  Given that it closes with snaps, I have found that using quilting cotton or other heavier weight fabric is generally more successful than a fabric such as gingham.

I think that my favorite part of the outfit is the buttons.  Apparently it’s also one of his favorite parts too, and he immediately wanted to take them off and carry them around.  (I’m glad that I really reinforced them!)

Happy birthday dear one!

1 Comment

Filed under Baby clothes, Kids clothes

One response to “A tractor-inspired outfit

  1. Joy

    What an adorable little outfit!

Leave a Reply

