Boy, oh boy!

So it’s official, we are having a little boy!  We found out last month in conjunction with The Professor’s birthday, and we couldn’t be happier.  We are in the process now of converting our guest room to a nursery and have finally begun to make some progress.  I’ll be posting some pictures as we start to pick out furniture and put together the room.  I’m thinking that I would like to decorate in shades of blue, green and yellow– with a heathly helping of gingham.

Over Thanksgiving I had the chance to visit two of my favorite fabric shops in the mountains of Western North Carolina- Waechter’s Silk Shop and Foam and Fabrics.  Waechter’s did not disappoint and I was able to pick up a bundle of fabric and a few little boy’s patterns.

Here is the fabric stash that I have assembled so far for my little baby boy.

From top left to bottom right: Vehicles by David Walker; Zoo Menagerie- Blossom by Eleanor (flannel); My Happy Nursery by Cloud9 Fabrics; Larkspur Circles by Alexander Henry; Oh Boy! by David Walker; Blue Plaid by Timeless Treasures Fabric; aqua kona cotton; Zoo Friends by Kelly Tanner (flannel); green kona cotton; Strawberry Picnic by Whistler Studios

Pima Cotton Gingham from Waechter's: red, navy, orange, teal and green

When I first found out that we were having a little boy, I pored over the pattern selections of McCall’s, Simplicity and Butterick but didn’t find much that peaked my interest. My initial excitement over having a few handmade pieces in the closet turned to disappointment, and I believed that I wouldn’t be able to make him cute, heirloom outfits. It turns out that I was just looking in the wrong place.

I found four beautifully constructed boy’s patterns at Waechter’s.  I can’t wait to start working on them!

Banded Diaper Shirt and Nappy Cover by Debbie Glenn
Paulie by Children’s Corner
Jordan by Maja’s Heirlooms
Sunsuit/Sundress by Creations by Michie

I think that I’m going to start with the sunsuit pattern first– perhaps in green gingham.  I’ll update the blog with my progress and review the patterns and I work through the list.

Stay tuned.  I’m also playing catch-up with blog posts.  I’m endeavoring to post a tutorial next week about how to adapt the Simplicity 2599 pattern to a maternity top.  Let’s hope that it’s sunny so that I can get outside and take some pictures!

Banded Diaper Shirt by Debbie Glenn

Paulie by Children's Corner

Jordan by Maja's Heirlooms

Sunsuit/Sundress by Creations by Michie

1 Comment

Filed under Baby clothes

One response to “Boy, oh boy!

  1. Pingback: A dinosaur sunsuit! | The Professor's Wife

Leave a Reply

