Review: Foam and Fabrics Outlet

I recently visited one of my favorite fabric shops while on one of my “last” trips to my hometown without a child.  And I thought that I would post a quick review of it, given that the shop doesn’t have much of an online presence.

Foam and Fabrics, located in the mountains of Western North Carolina, is a hidden gem among fabric shops.  I think that it tends to be more of a “local’s shop,” but if you are ever passing through the area- perhaps on I-26- it’s certainly worth the detour.

I should note that there are three Foam and Fabrics locations in western North Carolina – one in Fletcher, one in downtown Asheville and one off of I-40 in Marion.  The shop that I am speaking of is located in Fletcher, which is about 20 minutes south of Asheville, NC.

I love Foam and Fabrics because:

  • They carry all the colors in the Kona Cotton rainbow.  All the colors.  And the prices are reasonable- think $6 or less per yard for the Kona Cotton…
  • The selection of sewing notions (buttons, trims, ribbon, elastic, velcro, dressmaking supplies, thread, etc.) far surpasses anything that I can find in my local fabric shops
  • A fairly good selection of apparel fabric is available- such as knits, seersucker, gingham and special occasion fabrics, which is perhaps one of their largest selections of fabric
  • If you like quilting with traditional fabrics (i.e. not Amy Butler, etc.), then the shop has a very wide selection.  Quilting supplies are also readily available.

But the store is huge- so if you aren’t motivated by some of my fabric interests, there is also an extensive Home Dec wing, a foam section, as well as an area that sells fabric and other goods by the pound (sheet sets, pillows, random closeout things…)

If you ever find yourself in the area, I hope that you will enjoy it as much as I do!

Pretty Kona Cotton

More Kona Cotton (and a few of the pound good section)

A wall of trims

Ribbons in a rainbow of colors

A less than comprehensive picture of the quilting fabric selection


Leave a comment

Filed under Fabric store review

Leave a Reply

