It’s springtime in North Carolina

The cheery faces of daffodils are visible all over town and the earliest leaves of the trees and bushes are breaking forth.  With temperatures rising to 80 degrees for the past few days, I’m officially in spring mode.  Which is a great thing seeing that our sweet spring baby is due any day now. Hooray!

I’ve found that these last few weeks/days are the hardest as I await our little baby.  So, I’ve endeavored to find sewing projects to distract myself.

Here are two of my recent favorites:

The blue plaid longall is the Jordan pattern by Maja’s Heirlooms and the green gingham bubble is the sunsuit pattern by Creations by Michie.

This little green bubble is a 3 month size.  It’s made with the remanent of green gingham that I used for the border of the crib skirt.  He will be well coordinated with his room decor. haha.  This is also the same pattern that I used for the dinosaur sunsuit– I think it’s neat how very different they look.

 This is the baby’s “coming home” outfit.  I love the piping and the pintucked details.  I should admit that this pattern calls for smocking, but since I never really learned how to do that…. I removed the smocking ease with pintucks instead.

I am hoping that this fits as a newborn size.  The pattern only provides 3M+ options, so I removed a 1/2 in length, as well as a quarter inch in the side and shoulder seams.  I think that it should be forgiving enough of a fit to work for the first month or so.

As a side note, the background for these little outfits is a white knit blanket that The Professor’s grandmother made for him when he was an infant.  We plan on taking the blanket it to the hospital and bringing the baby home it it.

I’m also beginning to make the transition from sewing things for the nursery and our baby boy to thinking about spring tops and dresses.  I’m pretty sure that my pretty tops from last year won’t fit for a few months, so I’m planning on drafting up a few new tops for this spring and summer.  I had hoped to take part in Made by Rae’s Spring Top Sewalong 2012, but with the timing of his arrival, it looks a bit uncertain.  If he doesn’t come soon, I might have a chance to work on one or two!

2 Comments

Filed under Baby clothes, Kids clothes, Pattern review

2 responses to “It’s springtime in North Carolina

  1. Kiersten

    Those are both adorable! I am a huge fan of the colors that you picked. I’m also glad to get a sneak peek of the crib, too 🙂

  2. Emily Elizabeth

    beautiful, again! I love the way you modified the coming home outfit, I think smocking can be really overwhelming on a newborn, and that outfit looks just perfect. I hope it fits!! Mine were both 6 pounds for coming home, which was too small for everything!! Best of luck in these final days.

Leave a comment